Angolan General Elections: Does the End of Jose Eduardo Dos Santos’ Reign Change Anything?

Thursday, September 14th. 2017

On 23 August 2017, Angolans went to the polls for the fourth time in forty two years of independence and twenty five years of multiparty democracy. Provisional results have been announced by the National Electoral Commission of Angola (CNE). The ruling People’s Movement for the Liberation of Angola, or MPLA, which has ruled Angola since independence from Portugal in 1975, won just over 61 percent of the votes cast and an absolute majority with 150 of the 220 seats in Parliament, according to a provisional vote count. Joao Lourenco, the country's Defence Minister, will replace President Jose Eduardo dos Santos, who is stepping down after 38 years in power. However, there has been strong contestations from opposition political parties and civil society organizations who have been parallel counting of the election results, with four opposition parties calling for a recount. A few concerns were raised which are interesting to note:

  1. The relocation of a significant number of citizens to faraway places from where they had registered - resulting in a significant number of citizens not being able to vote; 
  2. A number of opposition party delegates and civil society election observers were not accredited resulting in a number of polling stations not having observers; 
  3. A number of opposition party delegates were forced out of the polling centers before the votes were counted;
  4. It has been argued that throughout the country there was no official counting of the votes in the municipal and provincial election centers which would have allowed the CNE to congregate and consolidate the information before making any announcements.

This Brown Bag aims to provide information on the Angolan Elections as well as chart a way forward given some of the challenges outlined above. 

FACILITATOR: Elias Isaac, Country Director- OSISA Angola


  1. José Patrocínio is the Executive Coordinator of Associação Omunga, one of the most active civil society organization in the country. Patrocínio holds a degree in Agronomy, from Agostinho Neto University.
  2. Teixeira Candido is the Secretary General of Sindicato dos Journalistas Angolanos (Angolan Journalists Union) He holds a degree in Social Communication and Law from the Catholic University of Angola.
  3. Luis Jimbo is the Executive Director of Angolan Institute for Electoral System and Democracy (IASED), and has a law degree from Agostinho Neto University.



our hCard

Building vibrant and tolerant democracies
1 Hood Avenue/148 Jan Smuts; Rosebank, GP 2196; South Africa
E 28° 2.1600000000001" S -26° 8.7420000000001"
Telephone: +27 (0)11 587 5000
FAX: +27 (0)11 587 5099

Twitter Feed

Our newsletters

Sign up for our newsletter to receive stories, research, and news, delivered periodically to your inbox.